Books read in October 2009

Quite a few more books read in October 2009, not sure why, but I guess they were probably on the lighter side?

1.  Dan Brown’s The lost symbol:  what can I say?  I enjoyed it, but was constantly thinking about the film that would be made based on the book!   I can already see the special tours in DC!

2.  Anne Fadiman’s At large and at small:  a selection of essays which I read as before going to sleep reading.   Interesting but but not attention grabbing.   I like her writing though.

3.  Bill Bryson’s The life and times of the Thunderbolt Kid:  I enjoy his books, with his sense of humour in whatever he writes.   His own early life certainly qualified!

4.  Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s The thing around your neck:  I mentioned this earlier.   Some very moving short stories.  Actually for an Accra Book Club gathering later on in November, that is if people show up, and we can manage to set a date!

5.  James Tiptree, Jr’s Her smoke rose up forever:  my first reading of any of this author’s work.   Some of the stories are quite dense, but others less so.  Most have quite an edge to them, although they are not “hard” science fiction.

6.  John Connolly’s The reapers:  fairly light thriller, with background information on several characters who have featured in previous novels.

7.  Dorothy Howell’s Handbags and homicide:  I nearly refused to finish this, which was a cross between a trashy romance and a mystery.  Not sure where my brain was when I bought it!

8.  Louise Welsh’s The bullet trick:  Have been on the lookout for one of this author’s books, as reviews have been consistently good.  And the book was, with a “hero” who really had seen better days…  Very atmospheric I thought.  Will definitely try and read some of her other books.

9.  Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows’s The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society:  On my “to re read” list for quite some time.  Not sure I found the last part as effective as the beginning, but it was quite a change.

10.  Dambisa Moyo’s Dead aid:  partly for Accra Book Club, but also for myself.   Got controversial reviews, but I still think her point of view is worth a look.   Will probably include it in the Reading Corner of a bulletin to be put out at work.

Leave a Reply

