Reading for 2010 – a few statistics

My colleague, Nana Fredua Agyeman, adopted the Boston Bibliophile meme, on his reading for 2010, so I guess I might make a shot at it too, though I have missed out quite a few of Marie’s categories!

Books read – to time of posting:  109

Fiction vs non-fiction:  59 fiction (with the largest category being crime/mystery, 50 non-fiction (the largest category being food/cookery)

Male vs female authors:  60 male, 45 female [obviously some figures don’t add up, as I wasn’t sure of the sex of some of the authors/editors!]

Favourites:

  • The graveyard, by Neil Gaiman
  • The grand Sophy, by Georgette Heyer
  • Tail of the blue bird, by Nii Ayikwei Parkes
  • The boy in the striped pajamas, by John Boyne
  • Cutting for stone, by Abraham Verghese

Least favourites:

  • Baltasar & Blimunda, by Jose Saramago
  • The sportswriter, by Richard Ford
  • Circles, by Boakyewaa Glover

Which countries did I go through in my year of reading?

Africa:  Ghana, Sierra Leone, Mali, Liberia, Nigeria, Cameroon, South Africa, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Uganda, Kenya, Ethiopia

Non-African:  UK, USA, Spain, Sweden, Canada, Iran, India, Pakistan, Italy, Russia, Australia, Netherlands, Germany, Poland

Any re-reads?

  • The grand Sophy, by Georgette Heyer
  • The adventures of Sherlock Holmes, by Arthur Conan Doyle
  • The clothes of nakedness, by Benjamin Kwakye

Most read authors – all except the following, were one of each: Jasper Fforde, Terry Pratchett and Benjamin Kwakye – all two books each

On where I got recommendations from:

  • Accra Book Club reads are a must
  • Great African Reads, from GoodReads, is a guideline, though I don’t always read the books being covered at the time but eventually maybe
  • BBC World Service’s World Book Club selections – though sometimes this may the author rather than the actual books being discussed
  • My sister
  • book reviews (mostly online but from varied sources),
  • what I see in local bookshops and others in the US

And in what format did I do my reading? So far all in physical books, as I am still getting used to my Kindle, which I do like.  But downloading books here in Ghana does have its occasional challenges!

5 thoughts on “Reading for 2010 – a few statistics

  1. Ooohhh I love The Graveyard Book and Cutting for Stone 🙂 I definitely want to read more of the books that you mention. Congratulations on a great reading year.

Leave a Reply

