Bookish activities in September 2011

When I started writing this, I thought September hadn’t been a particular active month for me on the books side.  But then upon reviewing it I realized it wasn’t as quiet as I had originally thought!

I bought nine books at local bookshops here in Accra:

  • 2 cookery books – I just can’t resist buying these, though I don’t always cook from them!
  • 1 novel – one of Boris Akunin’s books, The winter queen, which I had heard of on BBC World Book Club podcast
  • 2 art books
  • 2 pamphlets for visitors/tourists:  one on Twi and the other on Old Accra
  • 2 copies of Ama Ataa Aidoo’s The days, to be given to children as gifts

And then there were two freebies downloaded to my Kindle.

I only completed two books – which for me is unusual:

  • Flat earth news, by Nick Davies:  non-fiction on the media andvery relevant in the days of scandals from the Murdoch empire
  • The historian, by Elizabeth Kostova:   probably the main reason why I didn’t finish many books, as this is over 700 pages long!  An entertaining vampire story

The last couple of weeks of the month was busy.

I went to GAWBOFEST – briefly, as I mentioned in an earlier post.  Like others, I look forward to more of such events, though I know there is a lot of effort involved in organizing them.

Next was one of the Writers Project of Ghana events at the Goethe Institut with Camynta Baezie reading from his novel The African agenda.  I had bought the book a couple of years ago, and quite enjoyed it – an international thriller with African characters!  A pity though that there weren’t more people attending.  I know Goethe Institut puts information onto its website, and sends out emails, and Writers Project also sends out information via Twitter, but maybe these means are still not enough to bring people in?  I guess it also depends on how much publicity the authors themselves do.

And there was a gathering for Accra Book Club, after a gap of couple of months, to discuss Diane Setterfield’s The thirteenth tale. .  The book is a contemporary “gothic” with tales within tales, but with lots of references to reading, writing and books. That was fun.  And we planned our readings for the next six months or so, which was good.

So that was my September on the personal literary side.

4 thoughts on “Bookish activities in September 2011

  1. I was on the quiet side regarding activities. Or? Okay I wasn’t at the GAWBOFEST but I happened to be at the first-ever Writers Project of Ghana’s Book Reading and Discussion Club at the American Corner, where we discussed Ngugi’s A Grain of Wheat. Then again was at WPG’s Book-reading with Camynta. I missed out on a few others like 100,000 Poets for change.

    Yes Nina. I guess we have to do more to bring in people to attend the Monthly book-reading at Goethe Institute. We twitter, facebook, blog etc… yet the number last week wasn’t impressive. Some people will click to attend but never show up. Perhaps we have to re-strategise.

    • It also seems to me that the authors who are reading at the Goethe Institut need to be encouraged to use their own networks – of friends, colleagues, acquaintances, etc… – to promote their events. I have also noticed that towards the end of the month there are a lot more activities going on, which may give people more choice.

    • I enjoyed The historian though it was rather long, and at times it was a little scary. But definitely better in a book than in a movie! Though many would disagree, but I guess I am a bit of a scaredy cat, and don’t like horror movies

Leave a Reply

