Charles Dickens 200th birthday noted

If I had forgotten that Charles Dickens was born 200 years ago on 7 February 1812, I  would not have  been listening to the BBC or using Google – both of which are regular parts of my day! There is a special Google doodle – in my view not one of the best ones, but still a doodle is definitely better than no doodle – and the BBC Worldservice and other media in the US and the UK are full of stories related to him.

I won’t talk about any of his books – though I have read several of them, but it was a long time ago.

Maybe I should consider a re-read or two?

So indeed I pay a very small homage to an author whose words “Please sir, I want some more” are on this very day used by Ghanaian politicians and the media when talking about aid.

Enough said.

2 thoughts on “Charles Dickens 200th birthday noted

  1. Indeed, Charles Dickens will be remembered by all in Ghana, if not for anything at all, then for Oliver Twist. I’ve re-read that book several others by him, and my first two boys have read them too. Curiously, most of his books (the abridged versions) are no longer included in school reading lists. It’s sad, becasue his themes go a long way in building up the characters of the young ones.
    I make it a point to get books that I read as a kid for my boys to read. So our library has such titles like, Oliver Twist, David Copperfield, Treasure Island, Pride and Prejudice, Jane Eyre, Kidnapped, King Solomon’s Mines, Alan Qautermain, Chaka the Zulu , Wuthering Heights, Heid and many more, all abridged or course.
    I’m also happy to say that my 10 year old loves non fiction and he enjoys stories about great men and women of old, both African and Western.
    The legacy of Charles Dickens lives on.

Leave a Reply

