March and April 2012 book related activities

I just realized that April was an extremely slow month for posting – ouch! True, I was busy with family visitors, but I am not sure that stands as a good excuse.

Yet, looking back I did read a fair amount. In April and March combined I read 15 books:

four either by Ghanaians or with a Ghana setting:

  • Three cheers for Ghana (Robert Peprah-Gyamfi) [basically the author’s account of a visit to Ghana in the mid 2000’s after a long absence in Germany and the UK]
  • Diplomatic pounds & other stories (Ama Ata Aidoo),
  • The black body (edited by Meri Nana-Ama Danquah) and
  • Abina and the important men, by Trevor Getz and Liz Clarke [the last I thought was very good]

one non-Ghanaian African novel: As the crow flies (Veronique Tadjo)

six thrillers/crime novels (one of my favourite ways of relaxing):

  • Our kind of traitor (John Le Carre)
  • Sharp shooter (Nadia Gordon)
  • The office of the dead (Andrew Taylor)
  • The girl on the landing (Paul Torday)
  • A reliable wife (Robert Goolrick)
  • Legends (Robert Littell)

three literary works:

  • Super sad true love story (Gary Shteyngart) [for Accra Book Club]
  • A mercy (Toni Morrison)
  • Pigeon English (Stephen Kelman) [also for Accra Book Club]

On the book buying front, I bought nine books – all physical items, no e-books!  I do feel I have to do some work on my To Be Read shelves

  • six on Ghana/by Ghanaians
  • one a cookbook (a personal weakness)
  • one mystery
  • one on marketing to women

Book related events included:

  • Ama Ata Aidoo’s book launch (at British Council) and book reading (at Goethe Institut)
  • two Accra Book Club meetings – mentioned here

Plans for May?  None really, apart from the May read for Accra Book Club.  Generally I tend to go with my feelings rather a planned set of readings.

 

2 thoughts on “March and April 2012 book related activities

  1. Quite impressive reading. I’ve bought fewer books this year. I can count them on one set of fingers.

    The only thing I’ve read by Gary Shteyngart was a short story published in the New Yorker, when he was counted as one of the 20 best writers below the age 40.

Leave a Reply

