Africa Reading Challenge: an update

As I moved into the month of October, I realised that I had to look at progress – or lack thereof – on my one reading challenge, the African Reading Challenge, which was initiated by KinnaReads.

I know I have read quite a few books on Africa and/or by African writers, but I still have the following four on my TBR shelves:

  • Chicago, by Alaa al Aswany – North Africa/Egypt
  • An elegy for Easterly, by Petina Gappah – Central Africa/Zimbabwe – short stories
  • Broken glass, by Alain Mabanckou – Central Africa/Congo – in translation from French
  • The cry of Winnie Mandela, by Njabulo Ndebele – South Africa

So I have decided to move them onto a more obvious TBR pile on my desk, so I will know to pick one of them up as I move to something new with an African flavour.

I only hope that this strategy works!

4 thoughts on “Africa Reading Challenge: an update

    • And same to you! My reading is generally not terribly focused – apart from what I read for the Accra Book Club – and I have to remember that I need to read specific books for the challenge!

  1. Pingback: October books and reading – belatedly posted | Accra books and things

  2. Pingback: October books and reading – belatedly posted | Accra books and things

Leave a Reply

