Cassava Republic books in Ghana! at Yari Yari Ntoaso

ImageI won’t talk about Yari Yari Ntoaso (an international conference on literature by women of African ancestry) in this post, but if you want to know more see http://kinnareads.wordpress.com/ who is posting the schedule, and photos, or follow the #YariYari hashtag on Twitter.

What I wanted to comment about was the fact that the well known Nigerian publisher, Cassava Republic, had a stand among the tables of vendors!  How pleased I was to see them, and of course I couldn’t resist buying something on Day 1 – and who knows what will happen on Days 2-4?

The comment I made to their representative was to ask why they didn’t sell any of their Imagebooks here in Ghana?  I would much rather support either a Ghanaian or other West African business if this is possible.  I know the market might not be huge, but still I do believe there is a market for Nigerian literature here.  Certainly I saw at least six other books that I would have bought from them if I hadn’t either read or bought them already!

I wonder what other readers think?

4 thoughts on “Cassava Republic books in Ghana! at Yari Yari Ntoaso

  1. I agree with you. I have thought same. It’s difficult getting books published next door Nigeria in Ghana. It’s a pathetic situation. Farafina and others all do not sell their books here in Ghana and I thought ECOWAS was working.

  2. I was able to buy three books by Cassava Republic some time ago only because I attended a workshop in Aburi and Bibi, the publisher at CR happened to be a participant. She brought along some of their books including the Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives, Eno’s Story and Mayowa and the Masquerades ( I got the latter two for my kids)

    It’s really distressing when you can’t find books authored/published by Nigerians over here. To think we are only next door. Nana is right on the ECOWAS

  3. Pingback: May and June 2013 reading | Accra books and things

Leave a Reply

