Cape Coast on my mind

Cape Coast has been recurring theme in my personal life over the last few weeks.

A visit there with family included visits to two of Ghana’s best known secondary schools – Wesley Girls High School and Mfantsipim – plus a tour of Cape Coast castle (which I had never been to), though I have been to the nearby Elmina several times

And then at work we received a couple of copies of Abina and the important men, by Trevor Getz and Liz Clarke, which I had seen reviewed sometime last year, and was discussed on various academic lists which I follow.  I found the mixture of graphic non-fiction, plus a court transcript, and historical analysis fascinating.  And there is a website for it as well http://www.abina.org .  Definitely worth reading, in my opinion, for its depiction of Gold Coast coastal society in the late 19th century.

So I guess it was sort of inevitable that I should buy one of Albert von Dantzig’s books on the Forts and castles of Ghana on a recent visit to the University of Ghana Bookshop.

2 thoughts on “Cape Coast on my mind

  1. Recently read with great interest ‘The Fante and the Transatlantic Slave Trade’ by Rebecca Shumway. Anomabu should be visited if possible. JG

Leave a comment