#GhanaMustRead group reads so far

The third book group I belong to is quite different from the others. It is led by a real bookworm, who is a book reader and lover, a photographer and producer of several podcasts https://soundcloud.com/bookradioafrica related to books and reading.  He also has an online business selling books though that website seems to be under reconstruction at the moment!

Members too are young and mostly Ghanaian. I think yours truly is the oldest member.

A theme is chosen each month and then Bookworm Man puts together a list of contemporary books, complete with blurbs and audio files. Members then vote for their choice, and sometimes even there is a second round!

Since mid-2017 we’ve read and talked about the following:

  • Here comes the sun, by Nicole Dennis-Benn [set in contemporary Jamaica]
  • Ginny Moon, by Benjamin Ludwig [main character is an autistic teen]
  • Who will catch us when we fall? by Iman Verjee [takes place in Kenya]
  • Born a crime, by Trevor Noah [autobiographical account of the South African comedian’s early life]
  • The book of night women, by Marlon James [takes place in late 18th century Jamaica]
  • Before I go, by Colleen Oakley – our March 2018 read

I probably wouldn’t have chosen some of these books if I had been browsing for myself, but then that is the great thing about a book group.  You read what you like; and you read material that is different from your own “preferences” (whatever those might be).

 

One thought on “#GhanaMustRead group reads so far

  1. Wow.. I don’t remember how I stumbled to be here but glad I did. I’m a member of this book club. I particularly enjoyed reading ‘Ginny Moon’. A must read for parents and soon-to-be parents. I’ve missed some discussions but I’ve managed to read the books which is key to me. This group and the leader as well puts me on my toes. Great job Nina. Hope to see you in our next meeting.

Leave a comment